Bookish A-Z Survey

Thank you, Sara at The Bibliophagist, for tagging me in the Bookish A-Z Survey! I have found I really enjoy doing book tags, so keep ’em coming!

This tag was created by Jamie at Perpetual Page Turner and it looks like loads of fun so, let’s jump right in!


AUTHOR YOU’VE READ THE MOST BOOKS FROM

I thought it was going to be one of my high school faves like Stephen King, Mary Higgins Clark or Janet Evanovich. Lord knows I read enough of them and old Janet did come pretty close. But, according to Goodreads, my most-read author is…. (drumroll please)…. Penny Reid! I don’t think you need to be a fortune teller to have seen that coming. I have read all but one of Penny’s books (and it’s on my summer TBR), making her total 23.

BEST SEQUEL EVER

Ever? Like…ever-ever? Anne of Avonlea? By L.M. Montgomery.

CURRENTLY READING

I almost always have two books going at a time, but right now it’s three. Do I have a hard time keeping them straight? Sometimes. LOL

DRINK OF CHOICE WHILE READING

I have a little bit of a Coke problem. A Diet Coke problem… 100% addicted. Yes. I know it’s bad for me. But if Taylor Swift says it’s OK, then I’m good with it!

Image result for diet coke gif

E-READER OR PHYSICAL BOOK

Not so long ago I’d answer books only! But the carpal tunnel in my wrist wants me to say e-reader. I do love reading on my iPad now. It’s thin and allows me to carry an entire library with me wherever I go. Ain’t technology grand?

FICTIONAL CHARACTER YOU PROBABLY WOULD HAVE ACTUALLY DATED IN HIGH SCHOOL

Hmmm….. I was VERY shy in high school and didn’t date much, though I crushed hard. On just about everybody. LOL So I probably would’ve dated Jackson James from Beauty and The Mustache. He was a nerdy band geek. But I would’ve crushed on Beau Winston because he was a charming ginger! 😉

GLAD YOU GAVE THIS BOOK A CHANCE

berna

Where’d You Go, Bernadette. It wasn’t something I would’ve picked up on my own. But my bestie recommended it, so I gave it a whirl. And I really enjoyed it!

HIDDEN GEM BOOK

tree

I don’t know if this is a hidden gem or not. But I don’t hear much about K.K. Allen’s Up in the Treehouse and I think it’s a great book!

IMPORTANT MOMENT IN YOUR READING LIFE

I’m one of those people that believes any moment spent reading is time well spent, so I’m unsure how to answer this question. Maybe the first time I cracked a Harry Potter book because then I understood what it meant to be obsessed with the written word?

JUST FINISHED

image-2

I just finished Atticus by by Sawyer Bennett and whoa! Was it GOOD!

Related image

KINDS OF BOOKS YOU WON’T READ

I’ll read just about anything! There are genres I don’t like as much as others, but I can still think of examples from them that I did like. I’m not a big sci-fi fan, but I loved Ender’s Game and Ready Player One. I’m not huge into fantasy, but I love Diana Gabladon’s Outlander series and Tolkien’s The Lord of the Rings. So I won’t automatically exclude anything.

*edit*

Oh! Yes I will! I do not  like any books where animals are harmed — Like Water for Elephants? Nope! Life of Pi? No! #sorrynotsorry

LONGEST BOOK YOU’VE READ

I thought for sure this would be Stephen King’s The Stand! But a little Goodreads research always pays off. Diana Gabaldon’s The Fiery Cross beats out King by nearly 300 pages!

MAJOR BOOK HANGOVER BECAUSE OF

Hmmm….. The last book hangover I had came from Colleen Hoover’s Maybe Someday, I believe. I was still thinking about it days later.

NUMBER OF BOOKCASES YOU OWN

I have downsized my collection of physical books a great deal since my fiance moved in. Since I’m mostly a Kindle reader, I keep everything on my iPad except for one bookcase where I keep my signed books and most favoritest (yep, that’s a word) reads! Note: We actually have 4 more, but they are covered in every kind of comic book toy and Star Wars collectible you can think of. *rolls eyes*

img_3019ONE BOOK YOU HAVE READ MULTIPLE TIMES

Easy! There are actually very few books that I’ve read more than once, except for childhood favorites. But just about once a year I pull out To Kill a Mockingbird. I think, not only is the message of great importance, but Lee’s word choice is beautiful perfection. It truly is one of the greatest novels of this century. It is my favorite in part because of it’s beauty and in part because it always reminds me of my mother. ❤

PREFERRED PLACE TO READ

I read in my bed most of the time. With my little pug curled up next to me. I sometimes venture into the living room to read, but I find it hard to concentrate with the sounds of the house going on around me, so it rarely happens.

QUOTE THAT INSPIRES YOU/GIVES YOU ALL THE FEELS FROM A BOOK YOU’VE READ

My Post-2

I am inspired by so much of To Kill a Mockingbird. But particularly by this quote. It’s how I try to live. I’m no better than anyone else and (though sometimes I need some reminding of this fact) they are no better than me, either!

READING REGRET

Hmmm…. I’m like Sara, I don’t have many reading regrets. But I am really, really sorry I ever picked up Forrest Gump by Winston Groom. I loved the movie SO MUCH and the book is just awful in comparison. I just hated it.

SERIES YOU STARTED AND NEED TO FINISH (ALL BOOKS ARE OUT IN SERIES)

It’s rare for me to start a series and not finish it unless I lose interest. But I do need to read Finale by Becca Fitzpatrick just to see how the Hush, Hush series ends.

THREE OF YOUR ALL-TIME FAVORITE BOOKS

Well, at the risk of making it look like I read nothing but Penny Reid and To Kill a Mockingbird….

UNAPOLOGETIC FANGIRL FOR

HOCKEY ROMANCES! I’ll read any of ’em! But my favorites are Helena Hunting’s Pucked series and Beth Ehemann’s Cranberry Inn series.

VERY EXCITED FOR THIS RELEASE MORE THAN ALL THE OTHERS

Dr. Strange Beard

When I started working on this tag it was absolutely Dr. Strange Beard! But I’ve since gotten the ARC and I. Am. Reading. It! Gah! But I’ll still say Dr. Strange Beard because I’m super excited for the rest of the world to get a crack at this beauty!

WORST BOOKISH HABIT

Trying to read too many at one time and getting plot lines confused…

MARKS THE SPOT: START AT THE TOP LEFT OF YOUR SHELF AND PICK THE 27TH BOOK

lies

Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty. I picked this up at the used book store because I’m told I’ll love it. But I haven’t read it yet. Or watched the show. I’m always late to the party….

YOUR LATEST BOOK PURCHASE

love

Love and Gelato by Jenna Evans Welch.

ZZZ-SNATCHER BOOK (LAST BOOK THAT KEPT YOU UP WAY LATE)

This would be Atticus again. So many feels! I made my finace hold me for a while when I was done and I couldn’t go to sleep for quite a while.


I’m tagging:
BreeKristinKaylaClaireKarenJo

I’ve said it before, but no pressure! And anyone I may have missed, if you’d like to do this one, consider yourself tagged! But link back to me so I can read your answers!

12 comments

  1. Thanks so much for the tag love! I enjoyed reading your answers and Love and Gelato is super adorable. I actually just finished reading a hockey romance last week – Shameless King by Maya Hughes and LOVED IT. I wasn’t into sports romance before because I don’t like sports and was skeptical about how it would work with the romance or that I wouldn’t like the romance…BUT, I’ve read a few this year that I really enjoyed. Shameless King is also a college, enemies to lovers stories, so if you’re into that, definitely check that out. I’ve heard great things about Helena Hunting Pucked Series so I cannot wait to have the time to binge that series.

    Thanks again for tagging me.I did this tag a few months ago, but what the heck.. doing it again. I’ll have it done tomorrow!

    Happy reading and take care

    XOXO

    Liked by 1 person

    • If you don’t normally like sports romance and you liked Shameless King then I am definitely checking it out! I also really like enemies to lovers so it sounds like it’s right up my alley!

      If you’ve already done the tag, don’t feel pressured. Though I’d love to see your answers!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment