Favorite Quote Friday – 7/6/18

Have I told you all of my love for Huntley Fitzpatrick already? Lord knows I’ve told her. I emailed her to tell her she didn’t write fast enough for me! LOL Then I totally fangirled when she wrote me back! Squee!

I love her writing. I love how her books can be so funny and so raw at the same time. She is one of my absolute favorite YA authors and The Boy Most Likely To is one of her best!

 

The Blurb:

Tim Mason was The Boy Most Likely To find the liquor cabinet blindfolded, need a liver transplant, and drive his car into a house

Alice Garrett was The Girl Most Likely To . . . well, not date her little brother’s baggage-burdened best friend, for starters.

For Tim, it wouldn’t be smart to fall for Alice. For Alice, nothing could be scarier than falling for Tim. But Tim has never been known for making the smart choice, and Alice is starting to wonder if the “smart” choice is always the right one. When these two crash into each other, they crash hard.

Some of my favorite quotes from The Boy Most Likely To:

“Guys hate anticipation. That’s why we all write about satisfaction. Why we never wrap presents. I notice you wrapped mine.”

“I thought it was because you’re all too cheap to buy wrapping paper. Or too clueless to find it in the store.”

“There’s that. But honestly, you go to the trouble of getting someone a present, something you think they’d like—why hide it and make them work for it? It’s coy.”

“God, I hate it when people even say there are types, like people come in flavors.”

“Maybe thinking any one person can show up and give you all you need is as much of a delusion as thinking you can find truth in a bottle. Maybe you can just find what you need in little pieces, in people who show up for one crucial moment–or a whole chain of them–even if they can’t solve it all. Maybe this is the secret of big families, like the Garretts…and like AA. People’s strengths can take their turn. There can be more of us than there is trouble.”

 “It’s not rocket science, Nan. You show someone they matter to you—do whatever it takes to show that.”

boy2

8 comments

Leave a comment